There are many reasons why a person might want to become a cosmetologist in Mississippi. For one, cosmetologists are able to work independently, which means they can set their own hours and be their own bosses. Additionally, cosmetologists usually have a high level of customer contact, which can be very rewarding. Cosmetologists also have the opportunity to use their creativity on a daily basis, and they can often help their clients feel more confident and beautiful. There are also jobs available throughout the state, from metro areas like Biloxi and Jackson to smaller salons in rural areas. Regardless of your location, we’ve put together the largest collection of cosmetology schools in Mississippi anywhere, so check out our listings to find a school near you.
Cosmetology Schools in Mississippi
State Requirements for Cosmetology Licensing in Mississippi
Below are the main steps toward working as a certified skincare specialist in Mississippi:
- Complete an accredited training program
- Submit an exam application to the Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology and pay the initial $50
- Pass the theory and practical exams
- Renew your license every two years
The minimum number of hours of coursework required to take the Mississippi cosmetology licensing exam is 1500. Coursework includes both classroom instruction and hands-on experience. Eligibility also requires that you must be at least 17 years old. Other requirements include a high school diploma or equivalent and proof of citizenship.
How Much Do Mississippi Cosmetology Programs Cost?
The average cost of tuition for a cosmetology school in Mississippi is roughly $13,000. However, depending on your chosen school, this cost will be higher or lower. You will also need to factor in the price of supplies and a cosmetology kit, ranging from $500 to $1,500 or more.
Some schools include supplies with the cost of tuition. To make training more affordable, many schools offer financial aid options, so be sure to ask about scholarships and grants available to you.
Required Skills and Classes
Cosmetologists need a solid grasp of biology, skin histology, infection control, safety, cosmetology law, Mississippi rules and regulations, and other general knowledge. Some subjects cosmetologists in training study are:
- Haircutting and styling
- Hair coloring
- Chemical processes, such as straightening and curling
- Nail care
- Skin care
- Makeup application
- Client assessment
- Business Practices/Ethics
State Licensing Exams
In addition to the initial application fee, you must pay the exam fee to the test administrator (PCS). The exam is broken up into two parts, the written exam (theory) and a practical examination.
You have roughly 1 hour to finish the written exam. The practical exam sections are mostly untimed, and a score of 70 or more on both tests is required to pass.
The written exam tests your knowledge of theory, safety, and rules and regulations. The scope of the practical exam consists of sections that test your skills in hair styling and hair cutting.
How Much Do Cosmetologists Get Paid in Mississippi?
The average yearly salary for a cosmetologist in Mississippi is $23,250, while the hourly wage is $11.18. Remember that your salary may be higher or lower depending on your experience and skills.
There are many opportunities to advance in the field. You can find more information on wages and demographics on the Bureau of Labor Statistics website.
Does Mississippi Have Continuing Education Requirements for Cosmetologists?
As a licensed cosmetologist in Mississippi, you must renew your license every two years. There are no continuing education units (CEUs) required, but it’s recommended to stay up-to-date with advancements in the industry. The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology offers a variety of online courses for continuing education.
Contact Information for Licensing Board
You can reach The Mississippi State Board of Cosmetology at: