Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Louisiana

Barber Schools in Louisiana

In Louisiana, becoming a barber is more than just a way to earn a living. It’s a chance to be your own boss, set your own hours, and build lasting relationships with your clients. It’s also an opportunity to be a part of a close-knit community of professional barbers and earn a healthy living. If you’ve ever thought about becoming a barber in Louisiana, learn more about the requirements below. Also check out our list of barber schools in Louisiana if you’d like to find one near you.

Barber Schools in Louisiana

State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Louisiana

Individuals are required to complete the following steps to become a licensed barber in Louisiana:

  • Enroll in a barber school program or an apprenticeship program
  • Complete 1,500 of training for barber schools and 4,000 hours for an apprenticeship program
  • Register your license with the Louisiana Board of Barbers
  • Renew your license every year

How Much Do Louisiana Barber Programs Cost?

Barber school costs depend on the program you choose to take. The average cost of a barber school program in Louisiana is between $8,000 and $20,000. Financial aid may be available to help cover the cost of your education. Get in touch with your barber school to find out if you qualify for any type of financial assistance.

In addition to the cost of tuition, there may be additional costs that you are expected to cover. These can include the cost of books and supplies, as well as any fees associated with your program. Be sure to get in touch with your school to find out exactly what you can expect to pay.

Required Skills and Classes

You must first enroll in a barber school to obtain a Louisiana barber license. The following information is required of you when you register at a barber college:

  • Proof of high school diploma or equivalent
  • Two 3×5 photographs

Before you can take the barber licensing examinations in Louisiana, you must complete at least 1500 hours of barbering education. The Louisiana Board of Barbers likewise requires that you enroll in courses covering the following barber subject areas:

  • Basics of Barbering
  • Barbering History
  • Louisiana Barbering Laws and Regulations
  • Shop Management and Salesmanship
  • Shop Safety Hazards
  • Professional Ethics
  • Men’s Haircutting
  • Taper Haircut
  • Shampooing
  • Massage and Facials
  • Shaving
  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Sanitation and Safety

Barber Apprenticeship

Louisiana allows barbers to achieve licensure through apprenticeship, where you shadow a licensed barber for a time period of 4,000 hours. The apprenticeship program is sponsored by UFCW Local 496, a union of Barbers and Cosmetologists in Louisiana. You must complete the apprenticeship with a barbershop that is a member of the union.

Applicants must be at least 17 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, and pay a registration fee of $290 as well as an application fee of $100. There is also a monthly apprentice fee of $100. During your time in the apprentice program you will earn at least the Louisiana minimum wage.

Apprenticeships typically take two years to complete, and hours must be recorded on a timesheet and returned monthly to receive credit for the hours, which must be signed by yourself and the master barber. The following is an outline of the subjects and hours spent on each subject to qualify for licensure:

  • Haircutting: Male & Female – 1100 hours
  • Permanent Waving – 900 hours
  • Hair color: Male & Female – 600 hours
  • Hair Pieces – 550 hours
  • Shop Management – 250 hours
  • Professional Ethics – 200 hours
  • Hair Relaxing – 100 hours
  • Facials – 100 hours
  • Shampooing and Scalp Treatments – 100 hours
  • Sanitation and Disinfection – 100 hours

Applicants are also responsible to record 288 theory hours, which can be achieved online. The schedule for recording theory hours is provided once the applicant has been accepted into the apprenticeship program.

Once you have completed the apprenticeship program, you are eligible to apply for licensure through the Louisiana Board of Barbers.

For more information about the Louisiana Barber Apprenticeship Program, visit the UFCW Local 496 website.

State Licensing Exams

Every three months, the Board will conduct license tests for barbers. You must pass two different licensing examinations – a written and a practical exam – with a passing score of 70% for each.

Written Exam

The written exam covers topics learned in barber theory and must be finished within an hour. The subjects featured on the written barber exam include:

  • Hair Cutting, Styling, and Design
  • Skin, Hair and Scalp Disorders and Analysis
  • Draping Procedures for Facial Shaving
  • Chemistry, Electricity, and Light
  • Louisiana State Laws and Regulations

Practical Exam

Within a three-hour time limit, you must complete each portion of the practical test. You are also required to provide three models to be used on the exam: two male and one female. To pass the practical exam, you must be prepared to perform any of the following barbering services:

  • Cut and Style (completed on one male and one female)
  • Taper Cut (completed on one male)
  • Perm Rod Wrap
  • Massage
  • Shaving

How Much Do Barbers Get Paid in Louisiana?

Louisiana barbers make on average $36,320 per year or $17.46 for an hourly rate.

Does Louisiana Have Continuing Education Requirements for Barbers?

There are no continuing education requirements for barbers located in Louisiana.

How Do I Renew My Louisiana Barber License?

Barbers in Louisiana must renew their licenses every year and pay a $25 renewal fee.

Contact Information for Licensing Board

The Louisiana Board of Barbers can be reached at the following:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 225-925-1701
Address: 4626 Jamestown Ave, Ste 1
Baton Rouge, LA 70808