Skip to content
Home » Barber Schools Near You » Barber Schools in Arizona

Barber Schools in Arizona

If you’re looking for a barber school in Arizona, there are plenty of great options to choose from. Here are some of the best schools in the state, based on ratings and reviews from students and alumni.

State Requirements for Barber Licensing in Arizona

The steps required to obtain a Barber license in the state of Arizona are as follows:

  • Complete 1,500 school and practical hours barber program
  • Apply for a license
  • Passing the written and practical examinations
  • Renew the license every two years

Aspiring Barbers should note that only formal school hours are valid as part of the requirements for Barber licensure in Arizona. Apprenticeship training is not valid. Applicants must be at least 16 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. Applicants should own a valid U.S citizenship and social security number.

How Much Is Barber School In Arizona?

The estimated tuition cost in Arizona is $4,500 to $17,000 depending on the school and type of Barbering program.

Required Skills and Classes

Barber programs in Arizona may cover subjects and skills such as:

  • Anatomy of hair and skin
  • Hygiene
  • Chemical straightening of the hair
  • Hair color and bleaching
  • Beard shaving and trimming
  • Haircutting
  • Professional ethics
  • Shop management

State Licensing Exams

Arizona requires an individual to pass both written and practical examinations with a score of at least 75%.

The examination fee is $100 payable by money order or credit card. Individuals should be conversant with Arizona State laws as they could be asked in their written examination.

What Is The Salary For Arizona Barbers?

Arizona is among the states that Barbers earn well. Barbers may earn $23.40 per hour or 43,550 per annum which is considerably higher than some states in the U.S.

Are There Continuing Education Requirements?

There is no requirement for furthering education in the state of Arizona. However, a license renewal every two years on your birthdate for $80 is required. First Licensees are required to renew after a year, costing $40.

Contact information

Website: Arizona State Board of Barbers
Email: [email protected]
Phone: 602-542-4498 or 480-784-4962
Address: 1740 W. Adams, Suite 3011
Phoenix, Arizona 85007